Our Involvement in C++ Standardization

We are members of the WG21 committee that produced the ISO standard for the C++ programming language. We have been attending meetings since March of 1991, and most of the company usually attends each meeting.

John is the chair of PL22.16 (the US C++ standards committee), and was vice-chair from 2015-2017.

Daveed is a member of the "Direction Group", which provides high-level, longer term guidance of the work of the committee. Early on he did some initial work on advanced template usage (e.g., valarray and template metaprogramming). He is now also part of the Evolution Working Group, where he has championed the addition of modules to the language and done significant work on many other new language features.

Mike Miller was a founding member of X3J16 (the predecessor to PL22.16), attending the first meeting in 1989, and served as vice chair (1990-1991, 1996-2001) and Core Working Group chair (1999-2001, and 2011 on). He maintains the Core Issues list.

Nina took over as the WG21 and PL22.16 secretary in July, 2018.

Steve headed the Core Working Group from 2001-2011.

The standards committee is very active and now issues updated C++ standards every three years (2017, 2014, 2011). The committee also frequently publishes Technical Specifications (TSs) for experimental new features.